End-to-end encryption

OpusChat emphasises on privacy and security, which is why we have end-to-end encryption with forward secrecy. Your Personas, messages, photos, videos, audio notes, files and calls are secured. End-to-end encryption ensures the messages sent can only be read between you and your friends only, not even OpusChat.

Our system servers will not store any of the messages sent between the users, other than during a temporary storage and forward action when it becomes technically necessary. After the messages are delivered to the intended recipients or when the messages expire, these messages and data will be permanently deleted from the System Servers.

End-to-end encryption is always activated and cannot be turned off. There will be a lock icon shown in front of the friends’ names or groups’ name at the title bar on chat screens.

One-to-one chat:


Group: